The Return of the Dragon – CRS-1

Dragon CRS1
CRS1 Dragon Attached to the Harmony Node
Image Credit: SpaceX

The CRS1 Dragon is scheduled to be released at 6:26 AM Phoenix time (1326 UTC) Sunday morning, 28 October and return to Earth with its cargo from the International Space Station. Splashdown will be off the coast of California at about 12:20 PM Phoenix time (1920 UTC).

The Dragon capsule has been attached to the station’s Harmony module since Oct. 10. The spacecraft delivered 882 pounds of cargo, including 260 pounds of crew supplies, 390 pounds of scientific research, 225 pounds of hardware and several pounds of other supplies. This included critical materials to support 166 scientific investigations planned for the station’s crew, including 63 new investigations.

Dragon will return 1,673 pounds of cargo, including 163 pounds of crew supplies, 866 pounds of scientific research, and 518 pounds of vehicle hardware and other hardware. Not since the space shuttle has NASA and its international partners been able to return considerable amounts of research and samples for analysis.

NASA Television will provide live coverage of the release and departure of SpaceX’s Dragon spacecraft from the International Space Station on Sunday, 28 October. Coverage will begin at 4 AM Phoenix time (1100 UTC) and conclude approximately three hours later after Dragon has left the vicinity of the orbiting laboratory.

Dragon Operations Schedule for Sunday (all times UTC and subject to change):

  • 1100 – NASA TV coverage begins
  • 1155 – Dragon unberth
  • 1326 – Dragon release
  • 1828 – Deorbit burn
  • 1920 – Splashdown
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s