Dragon – Return to Earth – Release and Leaving the ISS

Acronymns

You can follow the orbital track of Dragon N2YO.com.

At 5:41 AM Phoenix time (1241 UTC) we are about 45 minutes away from release of the Dragon. The process of unberthing has been completed.

Dragon CRS1
Dragon Ready for Release from the SSRMS Canadarm
Image Credit: NASA TV

The prime release window is from 6:26 – 6:47 AM Phoenix time (1326 – 1347 UTC). The Backup release window is from 6:59 – 7:21 (1359-1421 UTC).

Following release, Dragon will make an initial burn at 6:27 to begin moving away from the ISS. It will make a second burn at 6:29 and move beyond the 200 meter Keep Out Sphere about 6:36 AM Phoenix time.

At 7:22 AM Phoenix time, Dragon will execute an apogee reduction burn, and at 11:28 AM, Dragon will execute a perigee reduction burn and begin the de-orbit process, leading to splashdown off the coast of Baja California at 12:20 PM Phoenix time.

Dragon CRS1
Dragon Rocket Burns Leaving the International Space Station
Image Credit: NASA TV

At 6:11 AM Phoenix time we are about 15 minutes from release, and about 260 miles above the Earth, passing over Spain and Portugal.

With 10 minutes until release, the teams at NASA and SpaceX have been polled for release and both teams are green.

Go for release.

Snares are being released.

At 6:29 AM Phoenix time (1329 UTC), we have audio confirmation of the release of the Dragon spacecraft. The ISS is out of range for KU communication and we have no video.

Departure burn one is complete.

Dragon CRS1
Dragon Leaving the International Space Station
Image Credit: NASA TV

The second burn is complete.

Dragon CRS1
View from the ISS of Dragon Leaving after the Second Burn
Image Credit: NASA TV

Dragon CRS1
View of the ISS from Dragon after the Second Burn
Image Credit: NASA TV

Dragon CRS1
View of the ISS from Dragon Prior to the Yaw Maneuver
Image Credit: NASA TV

Dragon CRS1
View of the ISS from Dragon During the Yaw Maneuver
Image Credit: NASA TV

The third burn is complete, and the Dragon is moving rapidly away from the Space Station.

Advertisements

One thought on “Dragon – Return to Earth – Release and Leaving the ISS

  1. Pingback: October 2012 « NSS Phoenix Space News

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s