Soyuz Progress M-08M launch

Progress M-08M
Progress M-08M in Preparation
Image Credit: Korolev – Energia

Progress M-08M is slated for launch by a Soyuz-U rocket on 27 October 2010 at 8:11 AM Phoenix time (19:11:53 Moscow). The Progress will approach the International Space Station in accordance with the usual three-day timeline. The docking is to occur at 9:40 AM Phoenix time (20:40 Moscow), 30 October.

Progress M-08M is to deliver about 2.5 t of cargo supplies to the station, including hardware for the Molniya-Gamma and Coulomb Crystal (pdf) experiments. The vehicle will also carry high-speed data transmission equipment to be installed on the outer surface of the station during an EVA by Oleg Skripochka and Dmitry Kondratiev in January of 2011.

Food boxes will contain not only standard rations, but also fresh fruits and vegetables – lemons, apples, onions, tomatoes, and a kilogram of garlic. The Progress will deliver 1,918 pounds of propellant, 1,100 pounds of oxygen, 498 pounds of water, and 2,804 pounds of food, spare parts and supplies.

At 7:40 AM Phoenix time (14:40 UTC), we are expecting a launch in 30 minutes

The launch is live at both Tsenki TV and NASA TV.

Progress M-08M
Progress M-08M Countdown
Image Credit: NASA TV

Progress M-08M
Progress M-08M Countdown
Image Credit: Tsenki TV

Progress M-08M
Progress M-08M Venting at T-30
Image Credit: NASA TV

Progress M-08M
Progress M-08M Launch Control
Image Credit: NASA TV

This is the 10th anniversary of continuous habitation aboard the International Space Station.

At 7:56 AM Phoenix time, we are 15 minutes from launch.

At 8:06 AM Phoenix time, we are 5 minutes from launch. There are no reported technical problems at this time.

T minus 60 seconds.

Progress M-08M
Progress M-08M Ignition
Image Credit: NASA TV

Progress M-08M
Progress M-08M Liftoff
Image Credit: NASA TV

Progress M-08M
Progress M-08M Ascent
Image Credit: NASA TV

Progress M-08M
Progress M-08M Downrange
Image Credit: NASA TV

At 20 minutes into the flight, Progress M-08M is in orbit and chasing the International Space Station. Rendezvous and docking are scheduled to be completed at 9:39 AM Phoenix time (16:39 UTC) on Saturday, 30 October 2010.

About these ads

2 thoughts on “Soyuz Progress M-08M launch

  1. Pingback: ATV-2 Johannes Kepler « The National Space Society of Phoenix

  2. Pingback: ATV-2 Johannes Kepler « National Space Society Blog

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s